Mole Screening

An in-clinic mole check where photos of one mole or pigmented spot are reviewed remotely by a dermatologist, for adults who have noticed a new or changing mole and want it looked at without a GP referral.

Collection
In-clinic appointment
Results in
4 days

Test specifications

Sample type
unknown
Collection method
in-clinic appointment
Turnaround time
4 days
At-home test
No
Doctor reviewed
No
Gender focus
Both

About this test

Rather than a blood or saliva test, this service works from photographs: you attend a clinic appointment where images of a mole or pigmented spot are taken and sent for remote review by a dermatologist. Randox does not publish a marker count or sample type for this service, since it is an imaging and specialist review process rather than a laboratory panel.

We do not have comparable mole-screening tests in our tracked set to benchmark the price or depth of this service against, so we cannot say whether £68 is competitive. The price covers the assessment of one mole; Randox charges extra for each additional mole reviewed in the same appointment.

The score is pulled down mainly by clinical depth and documentation, because Randox does not state how many markers or checks the dermatologist review involves, what happens to unclear cases, or what the report looks like, which makes it hard to judge against other tests. Trust signals score well, reflecting Randox's Trustpilot rating and lab accreditation.

Who is it for?

This suits you if you have noticed a new or changing mole or pigmented spot and want it looked at by a dermatologist without waiting for a GP appointment, and you only need one mole assessed. You must be 18 or over to use the service.

It is not suitable for moles that are open or bleeding, in intimate areas, on tattoos, on the eyelid or tip of the ear, or covered by a lot of hair, and Randox does not advise which mole you should choose to have assessed. If you are worried about a mole in any of these categories, or about several moles at once, speak to your GP directly.

How it works

You attend an in-clinic appointment where photos are taken of one mole or pigmented spot of concern; additional moles can be added for an extra charge. The images are reviewed remotely by a dermatologist, and Randox states results are returned within 4 working days. The provider does not state whether a follow-up consultation is included if the dermatologist flags a concern.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Photos are reviewed remotely by a dermatologist rather than an automated tool.
  • Based on photographs rather than a blood or saliva sample.
  • Results are returned within 4 working days.
  • Can be booked without a GP referral.

Cons

  • Randox does not state how many checks or markers the review covers, so depth cannot be assessed.
  • Price covers only one mole; extra moles cost more.
  • Cannot be used for moles that are open, bleeding, in intimate areas, on tattoos, or in some other locations.
  • No doctor review as standard, and Randox does not advise which mole to choose.

Our editorial score

Compare Health Test Score Single-mole photo review by a dermatologist
Editorial confidence: 7.0/10

Rather than a lab test, this service captures photos of one mole or pigmented spot and has them reviewed remotely by a dermatologist. At £68 it covers a single mole, with extra moles priced separately, and results are returned within about 4 working days. The provider does not state how many checks are involved, so clinical depth cannot be assessed against other tests.

Score breakdown

  • Clarity and documentation 6.0/10

    The listing publishes a detailed description, a stated turnaround, clear collection options; it does not state the biomarkers measured, the sample type, what the report looks like.

  • Clinical depth 3.5/10

    The provider does not state how many biomarkers are measured, so depth cannot be assessed.

  • Collection convenience 4.0/10

    Requires a visit to a clinic; results in around 4 days, in line with or faster than similar tests.

  • Results and follow-up 3.0/10

    Results are not doctor-reviewed and no consultation is included; the provider does not describe the report format.

  • Trust signals 9.0/10

    Trustpilot 4.6 from 29,705 reviews; accredited lab (UKAS ISO 15189 (Randox Clinical Laboratory Services, lab 9329)); CQC registered.

  • Value for money 6.0/10

    £68.00; no comparable tests to benchmark against yet.

Calculated 13 September 2026 from the facts we hold about this test and provider, using our published scoring formula. Scores are not hand-edited.

View all →

qFIT Bowel Cancer Screening Test

Priced close to the FIT test group median

A stool test using the qFIT method to measure blood in a stool sample, giving a numerical result rather than a simple positive or negative. Suited to adults wanting to check a common early indicator of possible bowel cancer risk.

  • At-home test
8.1 / 10